To the pediatrician we go

Tomorrow we get to go to the pediatrician for my son’s stomach issues. Our family dr had said they weren’t going to refer him until they got a stool sample results but apparently he went ahead and did it. I am so glad because they called and got him in very fast. They actually wanted us to come in that day but I live an hour away. I am a little nervous. I don’t know what to expect as far as what she will think is going on. But my poor boy has had diarrhea every day for 5 days now. It seems to be worse than ever. I am really leaning towards gluten being the culprit. The more I read on it the more his symptoms sound like it, so I am armed with questions. I hope she has some answers. My poor boy has a fear of doctors. When he was 7 months old he got a staph infection that resulted in a huge abscess. Bigger than anyone around had ever seen. But my dr kept telling me it was doing what it was supposed to. Until I took him in again and the dr was even a little freaked out. He told me afterwards he was septic and was very sick. We rushed to the hospital and had emergency surgery. It was a rough week and he was in and out of the hospital for the infection. After that he was terrified of any building that looked like a medical office for at least a year and a half. He recently started getting better but I always try to prepare him because going to a dr he hasn’t seen in 2 years might be scary. I am a bit anxious myself. I just hope this means we are on the way to figuring this out.

Leave a Reply

