Our attempt at a Toronto Blue Jays game

My husband’s work was having a family day where they got everyone tickets to a Toronto Blue Jays game. They were taking buses and paying for the trip.

Well, we never go on the buses. Too many kids in too many carseats and we do not want to be forced to stay the entire time. The past 2 years we have gone to the Buffalo Bills in Toronto games and we know, its not easy, its long, its loud. So we planned to go on our own.

The game started at 1:07. At 1:07, we were stuck in traffic. We did not get going on time. Then we had to stop and get some pampers. I cloth diaper, but when we go out, I do not want to mess with dragging wet bags and 2 sets of cloth diapers. I use pampers at night, one a day I figure isn’t so bad. And I know how stinky night time cloth can be, so this works for us. Only Mason was completely out of disposables. Of course.

So we got on our way and things were going ok. Baby fell asleep. That always makes the ride easier. Kids were all either watching a movie or playing a game. Then we got to Toronto. And the traffic began. It never ceases to amaze me how traffic can stop on a highway for no apparent reason. It wasn’t bad weather, no accidents, just traffic.

stop

This was when traffic was going ok. But it kept stopping.

cn

mike

I was bored so I started taking pictures 😉

Then Riley had to pee.

We were so close but still so far away. I think it took us 45 minutes to go 15 minutes away.

Poor Riley. He sounded like he was going to hyperventilate. But he made it.

As soon as we got into that crowded, over priced parking lot, my husband ran over to him with a cup. Thankfully, he is on  6 so he doesn’t mind peeing in a cup. That last 10 minutes of the drive though Carter cried, he kept saying he had to pee. We told him you are wearing a diaper, just pee. But he wouldn’t. So he too, went pee in a cup! He really has never gone in the potty so this shocked us. But it was a one time thing.

We got out, got all packed up and walked to the Rogers Centre. We were late.

We had decent seats though.

IMAG1231

tygame

baby

We got there for the 5th inning. I was shocked. I didn’t think it would go so fast! But then the next two innings were slow, and apparently my husband enjoyed them.  I got kind of lost. Like I said, we had good seats, the dome was open and we were on the shaded side, but the diamond was across from us and it looked so little. I am used to football games there. I am also not a baseball watcher. I went to a Cincinnati Reds game once when I was in the 6 th grade and on the safety patrol. It was our little field trip for being on that all year(yes I am from Ohio!)

After we sat for a couple of hours my husband looks down and asked me if I wanted to leave and go to the zoo. We have a zoo membership and had hoped to  go if we left early but since we got there late I figured we wouldn’t be able to.

I looked at all the kids, Mason was grouchy and wouldn’t nurse, Carter was flopping around, Riley was whining about Hayley not letting him use her phone, Hayley wasn’t paying attention to the game. I think Tyleigh was watching the screen over the actual game and Justin was watching the game. So I said ok.

We left. We never made it to the zoo.

It took us an hour to get through a couple of streets.

We stopped at McDonalds on the way home and at least let the kids play for awhile, but there was this awful little girl screaming her head off with parents no where to be found, so we went to eat and headed home.

Some might look at that day as a failure. But we didn’t. Sure we didn’t get to really do much. But we were together, all 8 of us. And when it comes down to it, that’s what matters. Even with the cranky teenager and a crying baby(although he didn’t do to bed that day).

We won’t get many more of these entire family trips so I will take what I can get now.

Leave a Reply

